The "Afghan National Anthem" (Pashto: ملی سرود‎ - Millī Surūd; Persian: سرود ملی‎ - Surūde Millī, lit. "National anthem") was adopted and officially announced as such by a Loya Jirga in May 2006. According to article 20 of the Afghan constitution, the national anthem shall be in Pashto with the mention of "God is Greatest" as well as the names of the various tribes of Afghanistan. The lyrics were written by Abdul Bari Jahani and the music was written by German-Afghan composer Babrak Wassa.

متن سرود ملی:
 دا وطن افغانستان دی        دا عزت د هر افغان دی
کور د سولی کور د توری        هر بچی یی قهرمان دی
دا وطن د ټولو کور دی        د بلوڅو، د ازبکو
د پښتون او هزاره وو        د ترکمنو، د تاجکو
ورسره عرب، ګوجر دی        پامیریان، نورستانیان
براهوی دی، قزلباش دی        هم ایماق، هم پشه یان
دا هیواد به تل ځلیږی        لکه لمر پرشنه آسمان
په سینه کی د آسیا به        لکه زړه وی جاویدان
نوم د حق مو دی رهبر        وایو الله اکبر وایو الله اکبر